



Hon. Cameron Dick

MEMBER FOR GREENSLOPES

Hansard Thursday, 10 March 2011

GREENSLOPES ELECTORATE, SCHOOLS

Hon. CR DICK (Greenslopes—ALP) (Minister for Education and Industrial Relations) (6.56 pm): Tonight represents the first opportunity I have had in 2011 to speak about the Greenslopes electorate, which I am honoured to represent in this chamber. From a personal perspective, a significant development since I last spoke in parliament about the Greenslopes electorate was the cabinet reshuffle last month and my appointment as the Minister for Education and Industrial Relations. It is a privilege to be appointed to this portfolio. Personally, I enjoyed a great start to my education at Marshall Road State School in Holland Park, one of the many schools in the Greenslopes electorate. That is why I was keen to return to the school on my first full day as education minister on 22 February 2011.

The Greenslopes electorate is home to many schools. I am proud to be associated with all of the schools in the electorate and I have seen firsthand the great work they are doing. In the past few weeks I have also been fortunate enough to attend many school leadership induction ceremonies at many of the schools in the Greenslopes electorate. I commend and congratulate those students who have been recognised by their local school communities as leaders. I also urge them to make the most of the opportunity that has been bestowed upon them. I want to take a few moments now to acknowledge the school leaders of Greenslopes.

I will reveal a little parochialism and start with my old school, Marshall Road State School. I want to congratulate school captains Grace Eadie and Kobe Pashen and vice-captains Sophie Burgess, Emma Turner and Joseph Forbes. At Holland Park State School the 2011 leaders are captains Michaela Brady and William Gunning and vice-captains Tiarnee Miller and Daniel Ellis. For Mount Gravatt State School the school captains are Jessica Siedlecki and Aqila Alawi and the student leaders are Ethan Cameron, Devarsh Chandat, Umair Khan, Georgina Mackeen, Chantelle Nemenzo and Rachel Ottley. At Seville Road State School in Holland Park, Hanad Mohamud, Iman Hashim, Selma Saldic and Travis McShane have been named as school captains.

Down the road at Coorparoo State School the school captains are Varun Hande and Charlie Barker and the vice-captains are Imogen Day and Marcus Flook. At Cavendish Road State High School the school leaders for 2011 are captains Nikki Keating and Ambrose Mollenhauer and student council president and vice-captain Taylor West-Taylor. The student leadership team at Holland Park State High School are Rebecca Bromwich and Thomas Kent, with support from vice-captains Emily Menzler and James Cuskelly. At Mount Gravatt State High School Rosil Bosco and Peter Gollagher have been named as school captains while the other school leaders are Sophie Mather, Phoebe Morris, Sabrina Oishi, Luke Leadbetter, Thomas Mawby and Danny Saba. Coorparoo Secondary College, which is scheduled to hold its leadership ceremony on 15 March, has chosen Tayla Woolcock and Brad McClelland as captains and Eleesha Archer and Toby Saltwell as vice-captains. Camp Hill State School, which will conduct its ceremony on 18 March, has named Olivia Wong and Darcy Brook as school captains and Ailish Hallinan and Asa Carroll as vice-captains.

In the past two years that I have been the state member for Greenslopes, I have met some outstanding achievers in our schools. I met three more on 9 March when I presented the TJ Ryan Memorial Medals and Scholarships at Parliament House. Three of the winners came from schools in the

File name: dicc2011 03 10 70.fm Page : 1 of 2

Greenslopes electorate, so it is worth making special mention of them here. Benjamin Tuckwell, from Holland Park State High, won a TJ Ryan Medal and Scholarship; Hannah Rienks, from Cavendish Road High School, was highly commended; and Kathryn Roberts, from Loreto College in Coorparoo, received a merit certificate. Congratulations to all these achievers and leaders in the Greenslopes electorate.

File name: dicc2011_03_10_70.fm Page : 2 of 2